South Bay

Light House Lakes! I have been dreaming of going there for a long, long time to go fishing for red fish and trout. And we finally decided to rent kayaks down in Aransas Pass Tx. But since it was winter time light house lakes was very low and would be even lower since it was going to be a full moon.

So we decided to go to South Bay in Aransas pass Tx. But I forgot about all the cold 30-40 degree weather a few days ago and then I realized I forgot my WADERS. What ever I will just gut it out, so when we got into the kayaks the we first kayaked over to a drop off of point about 3-6ft deep. The reason we went to this drop off point was because it was early in the morning and about 40-60 degrees and the fish are gathering around these big mud flats because mud absorbs a lot of heat from the sun. But I realized that the water was murky and obscure, so dark water means dark lures so I grab a goldish black lures and I go to grab my scissors and they WERE NOT THERE!!!!

Great! Now we have to kayak about 1 grueling mile just to get my darn scissors. So we finally get back and find my scissors in the street, so we hop back into our kayaks and kayak another grueling mile but by the time we get there the fish have moved on. We figure since it has gotten a little warmer we should go to shallower warmer water. And we finally find a spot and angler up. I notice that water is clear and the sun is shining straight down on us. So I switch to a lighter gold glitter color so it will shine in the water and be more noticeable in the water to the fish. We cast and cast and cast but get no bites.

By now we are tired and exhausted and doubtful that we will catch one, but we finally manage to find a nice school of bull reds about 28-35 inches. So I make my fist cast and hook up. My drag goes screaming off, and the fish spits the hook. Darn. Then from there on out we get tiny light notes but they really never take the bait. I guess the temp changed there mood in feeding but o well. We decide to head in. I feel terrible kayaking for 7 hours and not one fish. We’ll I guess you could say a bad day of fishing is just as good as a good day at school.

1 Thought.

  1. Love that last line, Ryan! Made me smile.

    In fact, I smiled as I read your whole post. What great voice! All of your emotion comes through in your writing. Great job showing what your day was like, not just telling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar